New Zealand Development Scholarships for Students from Africa, Asia and Latin America
Deadlines - June 2012

Deadline: May - June 2012 (Check Here)

The purpose of the scholarships is for candidates to gain knowledge and skills through post-graduate study in specific subject areas that will assist in the development of their home country. Awardees are required to return to their home country for at least two years after the completion of their scholarship to apply these new skills and knowledge in government, civil society, or private business organisation.


  • be a citizen of an New Zealand Development Scholarships participating country (permanent residents are not eligible to apply)
  • be residing in your country of citizenship, preferably for at least two years prior to application
  • not have citizenship or permanent residence status of New Zealand, Australia, or another developed country*
  • not be married or engaged to be married to a person who holds, or who is eligible to hold, citizenship or permanent residence of New Zealand, Australia or another developed country
  • be aged 17 or over before the scholarship start date
  • be applying to commence a new qualification and not be seeking funding for a qualification already in progress in New Zealand or another country†
  • not have completed, or nearly completed, a qualification at a similar level (i.e. applicants must apply for a higher level qualification than any previously attained), unless strong developmental relevance is demonstrated
  • satisfy the admission requirements of the New Zealand education institution at which the qualification is to be undertaken, including English language criteria
  • have been working in your home country since completing their highest tertiary qualification gained to date, preferably for at least two years prior to application
  • be able to demonstrate a strong commitment to the relevant sector in your home country, and to your country’s development in general
  • be able to take up the scholarship in the academic year for which it is offered.


  • Financial support for tuition, living costs while in New Zealand
  • Airfares

Eligible Countries:


  • Kenya
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia


  • China
  • Mongolia
  • Nepal
  • Timor-Leste

Latin America

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Uruguay

For details and Application, Click HERE

Joomla templates by a4joomla